Uncategorized

Simple Sailing Lessons

Oh wow!  Yesterday, the weather here in SC was positively gorgeous for January!  I was lucky enough to be able to enjoy an afternoon sail with my husband out on the lake.  As you can see here, we were in good company and felt so blessed to be able to enjoy and catch a few glimpses of heaven.
We set out with no ambitions other then to just go where the winds took us.  We had barely even motored away from the dock and out into the cove when Mr. SS’s phone rang.  It was one of our club members who was already out on the big water warning us the winds were up to 15 knots.  We hesitated briefly about putting up the sails then determined surely this wasn’t anything new that we couldn’t handle.  Soon after raising our sails and heading out further towards the big waters we were enjoying ourselves quite a bit.  One glimpse of the wide open lake and numerous other sail boats out for the day and we were sure it was going to be a good day.
 We were both very happy to just be out on the water in the sunshine enjoying a break from the cold and grey gloomy skies that  have been so consistent lately, both in our weather forecasts and our personal lives.   We had no desire to chart a specific course and were content to just go with the flow.  We made several tacks (specific maneuvers to change the direction of the boat) with the wind in front of us to get where we wanted to go at the moment.
After a while, the winds began to pick up though, and no matter what tack we made, we were headed in a direction we didn’t want to go.  We were sailing very quickly further and further away from the familiar waters we wanted to remain in.  Another tack took us even faster into yet another direction even further away.  Luckily for me,I have a husband who is able to remain relatively calm and focused on our circumstances while his wife is feeling quite panicked and fearful.
  He calmly explained to me we would soon do a jibe ( a well thought out maneuver in the opposite direction, to change the direction of our boat) to get back towards where we wanted to go.  I wasn’t clear about how a jibe was any different from a tack until he explained.   In a tack the wind is in front of you, (you are facing the situation) you have all your sails trimmed and tight to keep you from healing over.  In other words you are braced for what is ahead, facing it with the best of your abilities.   In a jibe, the wind is behind you, (you have turned your back from the situation) and you have to let loose of your sails, to catch the wind from behind.  This is called a broad reach.  Seems a bit extreme doesn’t it?  Well, it did to me.  But then, I reasoned there are times in life when if you want to get back to the surety of the familiar, extremes measures are necessary.
I could not help but think of how much of a metaphor my sailing lesson yesterday was to me in our relationship with God.  How often we should remember to “jibe” rather then spend so much time on “tacks”.  When we are facing the winds in front of us doing everything we think we need to do, and are trying desperately to make all the right moves.  What we really should be doing is letting loose of our own sails a bit, so we can attain a “broad reach” towards God, leaving the winds behind us.  Only then, are we surely able to head in the right direction.
Just a few thoughts today for;
As always, Thanks for stopping by!
Mary
12 thoughts on “Simple Sailing Lessons

  1. I am one of those eating my heart out!!! I did a Snow Queen table today because our weather was 1 degree this morning!!! Oh, this is so painfully gorgeous. Wish I lived where you do!

    Like

  2. I just discovered your lovely blog and I look forward to popping by again for some more inspiration! I've just put the finished touches on my new blog ‘Coastal Style’ It will have lots of inspiration on beach houses, resortwear, summer food, travel and anything ‘beachy’. I had a lot of fun putting it together so maybe you would like to check it out if you have a spare minute.
    http://coastal-style.blogspot.com/
    x
    Melissah

    Like

  3. Your photos are breathtaking, Mary, kinda wants me to jump in. I can't believe you were so close, but I live in Natchez, MS, not California. I really enjoyed our trip to Charleston. The city is so beautiful and the old houses are so charming. The hotel (Charleston Place) we stayed in was right in the middle of everything and it was so beautiful. I was in love the moment I set my foot in it….Christine

    Like

Leave a Reply

